2021 Ballydonoghue Club History

Ballydonoghue with Robert Bunyan


Ballydonoghue has a very proud record in the history of the Association and in fact football was played in the Parish long before the G A A was founded. There were many teams  within the Parish at various stages before the present club as it exists today, came into being; teams like, Glouria, Gunsborough, Tullamore, Guhard, Ballyconry,Lisselton and Dromlought. battled it out in competition at that particular time. Without doubt the club has had many highlights with plenty to celebrate with their huge amount of success at club level down the years along with all those players representing their County (as listed below); Another special occasion happened 46 years ago for the club and its loyal supporters; (1975) when the Tom Markem All Ireland  Minor Cup resided in the Parish for it twelve months period. Certainly Ballydonoghue club has terrific new facilities in Coolard and has acquired a healthy

club status in the last two years and only for the lockdown many more new healthy nitiatives would have been introduced. It is located in the hearth of North Kerry and amazingly it is bordered by Ballyduff, Beale, Asdee, Ballylongford, Moyvane, Clounmacon, and Listowel, thus the close association with both Shannon and Feale Rangers . 

In 2015 the Ballydonoghue minor team won the County Minor league Div 1 the first North Kerry team to do so .They beat the likes of Dr Crokes, Dingle, Kerins O Rahillys, Austin Stacks and Spa on the way to a historic victory. the team in the final against Dingle was, Cian Mahony, Conor Horgan, Jason Foley, Donal Doyle, William Kissane, Jack O Connor, Kieran O Connell, Kevin O Donnell, Brian O Seanacháin, Jack Goulding, Daragh Sheehy, Kieran Lynch, Jack Behan, Jack Foley, Brian Mason. Subs, Paddy Kissane, Danny Power, Joseph Lynch, Stephen Mason,

Michael Dee, Michael Gogarty, Liam Kissane, Alvaro Nunez Alonso, Shane Kennelly,(suspended), Micheál Foley (injured).When will a North Kerry club at any level defeat one of the above big clubs not to mind all five. The management was Denis Lynch, P J Foley, Martin Sheehy, Pa Foley, Anthony Shanahan. 2015 was a very historic year indeed.



Ballydonoghue won the North Kerry Senior championship for the first time in 1945,and were in the finals of 1946, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 59, 61, 92, 2016, 17, 18,winning also in

46, 49, 50, 52, 59, 92, 2016,and 2017.Their great era in the late forties and early fifties saw them in five finals in a row. Many players from that era would also have played minor, junior, U’21, and senior for Kerry. In that time players from the club would have played for Shannon Rangers, Feale Rangers, and North Kerry. Several club officers have also served on

the North Kerry Board, and County Board. 

The club has served the district, and the county well with Senior Referees namely; Eamon Diggins, Joe Riordan, Mike Flavin, Sean Carr, Eamon Moran, Edward Diggins, Eric O Connor, Paddy Henchy, Johnny Bunyan, Darragh O Shea, Gus Cremin, Mike Joy, Robert Bunyan, Pa Foley, John Joy.

The following from the club have played for the, 

Kerry Minors,

Mick Finucane, Eddie Dowling, Tom Keane, Jer D O Connor, Billy Nolan, Tony Flavin, Eamon Kissane, Johnny Bunyan, Tom Barry, Ger Browne, Stephen Carroll, Robert Bunyan, P J Houlihan, Nix Riordan, Pa Foley, Michéal Kissane, Dino Dowling, Kieran Walsh, Jim O Donnell, John Mulvihill, Liam O Flaherty, William O Donnell, Martin O Mahony, Colin O Mahony, Diarmuid Behan, Dara O Shea, Brian O Seanacháin, Jason Foley, Micheál Foley, Jack Kennelly. 

Kerry Juniors,

Standish Kerins, Denis Black Dowling, Eddie Dowling, Sean Dillon, Mick Finucane, Ned Purtill, Jer D O Connor, Johnny Bunyan, Tony Flavin, John Dowling, Liam O Flaherty, Paul Kennelly, Dara O Shea, Brian O Seanacháin, Jason Foley, Micheál Foley. 

Kerry U21

Johnny Bunyan, Tony Flavin, Robert Bunyan, Liam O Flaherty, Martin O Mahony, Colin O Mahony, Dara O Shea, Brian O Seanacháin, Jason Foley, Micheál Foley. 

(U 20). 

Jack Kennelly

Kerry Seniors

Gus Cremins, Eddie Dowling, Mick Finucane, Jer D O Connor, Johnny Bunyan, Liam O Flaherty, Jason Foley.