2021 Feale Rangers History

CLUB OF THE WEEK with Sean O hAonghusa


The first mention of Feale Rangers was in 1956 when a Feale Rangers side represented North Kerry in the Kerry Senior Football Championship after the two sides; (Shannon Rangers formed in 1940) joined forces. This newly formed team contested the County Finals of 1959 and 1962 and certainly made their mark on County Championship; but went their separate ways in 1963 as St. Vincents; with the majority of the clubs opting to go with Shannon Rangers. A few years passed and in 1971 they were back as Feale Rangers and are one of the three clubs from the District Board to participate at County Championship level; Shannon Rangers and St Kierans; being the other two. Clubs that made up the formation of the Feale Rangers club on that historic occasion were; Moyvane, Finuge, Listowel Emmets, St. Senans, Duagh, Clounmacon, Tarbert, Ballydonoghue and Knocknure; but on a couple of occasions Ballydonoghue and Tarbert crossed from the Shannon to the Feale and back again. In fact there was great rivalry in North Kerry at that particular time  with the Shannonsiders and the Fealesiders having a successful period in County Championships. However its on the Feale Rangers side of North Kerry that we dwell on this occasion. Three County Championship titles; 1978, 1980 and 2007 were recorded having contested 6 County Finals between 1977 and 1985  I suppose the highlight of those achievements would in my opinion would have to be in 1978 been their first County Championship victory in their 22 year history. The Journey started at the quarter final stage with the Feale easily overcoming South Kerry by 5-15 to 2-9. Shannon Rangers provided the semi final opposition and the Feale made up for last years final defeat from their North Kerry neighbours with a one point victory; 1-11 to 1-10. The County Final saw Feale Rangers up against a formidable Mid Kerry played at Austin Stack, Park, Tralee and in a dour struggle the Fealesiders made their club history with an 0-8 to 0-3 victory. So the Tarbert supremo and captain Johnny Wren was the first Feale Rangers man to take the Bishop Moynihan Cup to the Fealeside.Without doubt one has to mention Listowels Johnny Flaherty who had his team in tip top shape along with his selectors; Dan McAuliffe, Duagh, Eric Browne, Listowel, Pat Joe McEnery, Moyvane, Pa Kelly, Tarbert and Kieran Rohan, St. Senans Emmets, As a result of that victoryTim Kennelly went on to captain the Kerry team to All Ireland glory in 1979 along with John Chute captaining the Kerry Minors but failed at the final journey to do the double  As one will see from the lineout this was a starstudded line-up of players with the majority having played at some level for Kerry and one only wonders how they couldn’t have achieved much more success. Team; John Kennelly, Listowel Emmets, Paddy Hannan, (do), Ger Leahy, (do), Johnny Wren, (Captain), Tarbert, Sean Walsh, Moyvane, Tim Kennelly, Listowel Emmets, Eamon Fitzmaurice, Moyvane, Jimmy Deenihan, (do), Johnny Mulvihill, Moyvane, Robert Bunyan, Ballydonoghue, Johnny Bunyan, (do), Tommy Bridgeman, Tarbert, Pat Flaherty, Listowel Emmets, Paddy Mulvihill, Moyvane, Gerald O Sullivan, Tarbert. Subs Seamus O Donovan, Listowel Emmets, Patsy O Connell, Tarbert, Timmy (Red) O Sullivan, Finuge, Mike O Brien, Tarbert, Mike Maguire, Listowel Emmets, Mike Mulvihill, Moyvane. Referee; Weeshie Fogarty.